Comment Book

 

We constantly strive to give you the best possible care and attention, which is why we are always pleased to hear your comments about the Practice – good or bad!

You can use the comment box at the bottom of the page to let us know your comments and suggestions on the practice, or there is also a comments book available in the entrance foyer to the Practice if you prefer. Feedback will be provided in each case, either in the space available in the comment book, or by direct reply to your comment below.

The form should not be used to request any medical advice, or to ask clinical questions.

If you have a specific complaint, please send it to us in writing to Mrs Brenda Mair, Practice Manager, at the Practice address (more info available here).

If you have any specific feedback about the website, please direct it here.

  101 Responses to “Comment Book”

  1. My husband and I have now had three prescription in the past month. All three have had a note at the bottom of the returned prescription inviting us to phone the practice to book for the annual flu vaccination. I phoned earlier in the week and was told that there was no such arrangement but that the receptionist would check with the nursing staff and phone me back. I have had no such call. Can you clarify the position? If these prescriptions are old ones with last year’s message, they should be withdrawn. If we are indeed invited to book for flu vaccinations on a date in October and one in November, please inform your reception staff.
    I look forward to clarification

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I apologise that you didn’t get the call back you were promised about this issue. I can confirm that the message was related to last year’s flu campaign. It is entirely my fault that I overlooked removing the message after the campaign ended in March. I have removed the message now though since one of our reception staff recently mentioned it to me – I’m assuming that would have been following your call, so thank you for that.

  2. Good Afternoon,

    Could you advise if the process for registering as a new patient is still progressing as normal during the current situation and also advise on the current wait time?

    • Good Morning,

      Thanks for your enquiry. When the outbreak first started we did have to put a pause on our registration process, but just recently have started it up again and we are trying to work through the backlog.

      We get a very high number of registration requests, however, and anyone just joining the waiting list now would be looking at a 3 month minimum wait. For anyone with an existing condition, or on repeat medication we do encourage them to look for alternative medical practices in their area who may be able to register them faster.

      For those who have been on the waiting list for a while, it’s difficult to say how much longer they will have to wait as there are a lot of variables that can affect how quickly we can get through the backlog. We are working as hard as we can on it though, and we are grateful for everyone’s patience.

      If you do need to register with a GP sooner rather than later, you can search the following website by postcode to see which practices are in your area:

      http://www.nhsinform.scot/scotlands-service-directory/gp-practices

  3. I, like everyone really value all the NHS has done during this very challenging time. I want to make clear that I have always found the medical practice very helpful. My family and I have attended the practice for the past 36 years. It is because of the high standard of service we received when our children were babies and as they were growing up I feel the need to make the following comments..
    I am concerned about nuinances of the recorded message for the practice. Clearly it is important to give all the information as regards Corvid-19. However I am concerned about the absence of information as regards the importance of consulting if there are health concerns as regards a child or another member of the family in none Corvid-19 related matters. I am concerned that young families and older people will feel they should not bother the practice

    • Dear Mrs Bleakley,

      Thank you for your comments regarding the practice telephone message. I note your concern that the emphasis is too much on COVID-19 and we will arrange to review our telephone message in light of your comments. We have updated our website to reflect what the current situation is and this is reviewed on an ongoing basis as we receive continuous updates.

      Please be assured that we are doing all possible on an ongoing basis to ensure all of our patients are cared for as appropriate in these challenging times.

      In the meantime thank you for bringing this matter of concern to our attention.

      Yours sincerely,

      Brenda M Mair
      Practice Manager

  4. I made it clear that I wanted a non- urgent appointment but was still told to phone the following day between 8 and 9.

    • Dear Mr Inglis,

      I am sorry that you had a frustrating experience when trying to make an appointment recently. I am sure that you understand that during the Covid-19 Pandemic, we have been forced to change our ways of operating, often with very little notice and occasionally follow on actions are missed, as in this case. Following comments from yourself and others we have now updated our telephone message and are in the process of reviewing the messages regarding appointments during the crisis on our website.
      Our Patient Services Advisors are only able to book on the day appointments during this time, hence advising you to call between 8am and 9am which will give you the optimal chance of getting an appointment that day even for non urgent calls.

      Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience.
      Kind regards

      Gary Richards
      Assistant Business Manager

  5. I have important medical information for my GP but I can’t see how to email this. I will bring round a letter by hand but maybe with the lockdown you should be open to email.

    • Dear Mr Brookes,

      Thank you for your comment which highlights an inability to email the practice.

      I am afraid that NHS Lothian provide our IT services and they have not been able to introduce an email system that meets the data protection standards required to comply with GDPR. Should the information be urgent it is possible to contact the practice to advise your usual GP accordingly. Alternatively, if able to deliver yourself, we do have a letter box that can be utilised outwith normal working hours and also a “post box” for mail from patients in the entrance to the practice. This prevents patients from having to enter the practice unless asked to do so.

      I trust this helps answers your query meantime.

      Yours sincerely,

      Brenda Mair
      Business Manager

  6. Your Coronavirus info post is very misleading: “routine” has a different meaning outside the medical profession.

    When you say “NHS SCOTLAND HAVE ADVISED GP PRACTICES . . . TO SUSPEND ALL ROUTINE WORK” and “Again please note that we will not be able to help with routine matters” the implication is that you will only deal with Covid-19 related matters.

    I did not know that I could still phone you for matters unconnected to Covid-19.

    • Dear Mr Woods,

      I am sorry for the delay in our response which has just come to my attention. I note your concern regarding the terminology used in advising that we have to suspend “routine” matters and will look at defining this further. The latest entry does however advise on how you will be dealt with if you require to be seen. Initially at present you can speak with a GP on the telephone and they will assess what follow-up is required. We are trying to reduce the footfall in to the practice but can confirm we are seeing patients who require to be seen or using a video consultation where appropriate. We plan to review our current consultation schedule in light of the information that we are receiving on an ongoing basis and will update the website further to reflect changes and ensure we use terminology that a lay person will understand. Thank you for taking the time to highlight your findings.

      Yours sincerely,
      Brenda Mair
      Practice Manager

  7. Maybe the website should be updated so that patients are informed that, under pandemic conditions, to make an appointment with a doctor you have to phone between 8 and 9 in the morning.

    • Under the current pandemic conditions you don’t have to phone between 8 and 9 in the morning to get an appointment. Certainly, on busy days our appointments can go quickly, but that’s the same whether we’re under pandemic conditions or not. So sure, if your need for an appointment is urgent, then you are best to phone early, but it’s by no means a rule.

Leave a Reply to Karen Cancel reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required - will not be shown)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.